2 March 2016

TORINO JAZZ FESTIVAL 2015 David Murray & Lydian Sound Orchestra - Omaggio a Duke Ellington e Billy Strayhorn recorded at Teatro Carignano, Torino, Italy, on monday 1 June 2015 FLAC FM

David Murray, tenor saxophone
- Lydian Sound Orchestra, conducted and arranged by Riccardo Brazzale
Robert Bonisolo, soprano and tenor saxophones
Mattia Cigalini, alto saxophone
Rossano Emili, baritone sax and clarinets
Gianluca Carollo, trumpet and flugelhorn
Roberto Rossi, trombone
Dario Duso, tuba
Paolo Birro, pianoforte
Marc Abrams, bass
Mauro Beggio, drums

this would be better credited the other way round, meaning Lydian Sound Orchestra WITH David Murray, but that is how got officially billed, so... it is anyhow saxophone giant Murray paying tribute to the Duke Ellington & Billy Strayhorn partnership, and it's somehow predictable and occasionally brilliant... arrangements are more or less divided among Murray and orchestra leader Brazzale, and one track dedicated to deceased Marco Tamburini was also included in this programme.  Also included in this folder as track00 a LONG introduction in ITALIAN with bio notes and commentaries - this intro runs for 10'42, you can skip downloading it if you don't understand italian.

(00-radio introduction by Pino Saulo)
01- the Mooche
02- Caravan
03- Sophisticated Lady
04- band intros
05- un Capanno di Montagna in Mezzo al Mare [Riccardo Brazzale]
06- Murray's entrance
07- Chelsea Bridge  [arranged by David Murray]
08- Wig Wise  [arranged by David Murray]
09- Mood Indigo
10- intros
11- Take the A Train  [arranged by Roberto Rossi]
12- Half the Fun
13- Circle of Fourths
14- intros
15- the Star Crossed Lovers
16- Blue Pepper  [arranged by David Murray]
17- In a Mellow Tone
18- radio outro

running time : 99'40" (excluding radio intros)
WITH radio intro and outro it would be 111'08"

FM radio broadcast by "Il Cartellone - Radio Tre Suite Jazz", Radio 3 RAI [third channell of Italian national radio], on tuesday 16 February 2016, 20:35 hours [CET].


upkerry14 said...


francisco santos said...