28 October 2014


Jörgen Ryg, trumpet
Hans Koller, tenor saxophone
Gerd Dudek, tenor saxophone
Willi Sanner, baritone saxophone
Attila Zoller, guitar
Werner Giertz, piano
Oscar Pettiford, bass, cello
Dave Moore, bass
Kenny Clarke, drums

Disc 1
01. Wiener Blues (A. Zoller)     4:40
02. Early Piece (A. Zoller)     3:05
03. Amusia (A. Zoller)     5:09
04. The Lady is a Tramp (R. Rodgers-L. Hart)     3:48
05. Bernie's Tune (B. Miller-J. Leiber-A. Stoller)     3:59
06. F.G.E. Blues (H. Koller)     5:50
07. The Box (H. Koller)     3:16
08. Yesterdays (J. Kern-O. Harbach)     4:09
09. Willow Weep for Me (A. Ronell)     4:30
10. Kenny's Feeling (A. Zoller)     3:43

Disc 2
01. Cohn's Limit (H. Koller)     6:26
02. Yardbird Suite (C. Parker)     4:01
03. Love Nest (A. Zoller)     4:11
04. Dark Glow (W. Giertz)     5:29
05. Stalag 414 (A. Zoller)     4:45
06. Gertberg Walk (O. Pettiford)     3:56
07. The Gentle Art of Love (O. Pettiford)     6:00
08. Willie der Bär (H. Koller)     6:40

Recorded: November 14, 1958 at Grosser Sendesaal (Studio 10) des NDR Funkhauses, Hamburg.


onxidlib said...


Anonymous said...

Thank You (Again) for NO.2, onxidlib!! I can only repeat what i wrote for NO.3 (it certainly applies here too):

Very great to hear some *classic* 'swingin' jazz here (amongst the sea of free music), and with such a stellar cast of European (and transplanted American) musicians! Also, interesting that this is a live concert before a live studio audience! Thanks Much! --dandor

{and this one has the legendary rhythm section that pioneered Bop: OP & Klook!)

SOTISE said...

thanks , once more... fabulous!

thank you!

Bulkang U. Antibop said...

i never thought i would hear such early gerd catch the worm! wonderful! thank you!

Solomon said...

Thank you!